Treatment for (slightly) odd shaped mix room

All about acoustics. This is your new home if you already have a studio or other acoustic space, but it isn't working out for you, sounds bad, and you need to fix it...
civvie

Postby civvie » Mon, 2020-Aug-31, 14:28

Hi all. Great forum, glad I found it!

OK here goes:

I've got a smallish mixing room, it's an odd shape, slightly trapezoid, the front wall is narrower than the back with the sides fanning out. (It wasn't designed as a RFZ or anything, it's just how the room is). I've been mixing in this room for 3 years with some basic treatment, and it sounds OK, but there are issues I now want to sort out.

The Room

177 sq foot. 3 walls are drywall on wood stud and the 4th is cement and brick exterior wall.
The floor is cement with hardwood parquet on top, the ceiling is cement.

Treatment
The treatment I have so far:
Large hanging cloud (Rockwool RW3, two layers total 150mm, not hardbacked)
Two first reflection side panels (single layer 75mm RW3)
Two corner panels (single layer 100mm RW3)
Back wall panel (4 x 75mm RW3)

I'm not sure how to post photos here so please visit this link for photos, sketches and the REW mdat and screenshots: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

What I want to achieve

I think my biggest issue is the difference in the construction of my L + R walls. This is throwing the imaging off and I think you can see that in the REW results. I want to try and improve this as well as improve the bass response and definition.