Feasibility of Isolating Studio Above Attached Garage

Start your own studio thread here: Goals, plans, layouts, treatment, speakers, questions, queries, comments...
Elusive Sounds

Postby Elusive Sounds » Fri, 2020-Apr-17, 18:42

Hi all. Long post warning. I tried my utmost to give as much information as possible and go by all of the posting guidelines. I also put subtitle categories in if you want to skip ahead. Here we go... :)

Background:
I am a musician, electronics tech, technical director and freelance sound engineer. I have been researching this and other forums for years. I have read Built It Like The Pros by Rod Gervais as well as other books. I have a working understanding of the principals involved in MSM assemblies to achieve isolation; therefore, I know my goal below will be difficult and expensive.

Overview:
I have small music room on the second floor of an attached garage with a cathedral ceiling. It is adjacent to the master bedroom and adjacent to a partially finished workshop at the rear. The music room faces a busy street 39' in front, and faces two large apartment complexes 108' in front, across the street. The house is under a flight path, and has a railroad track approx. 600' behind the back yard. The approximate Dimensions: of the room are: Floor area 270.5"x182.5", knee wall height is 31.5", and the subfloor to bottom of central support beam 117.5"

Use of the space:
1. The space is used primarily for writing, tracking and mixing, all in the same room. I play and record acoustic drums, electric guitar and bass as well as keys and synth. I will sometimes put amps in the rear workshop when tracking guitar and bass.
2. I use the space for mixing music recorded in other larger, better sounding rooms.
3. The room has been used to record voice over successfully but with some difficulty.
4. The room had also been used as a rehearsal space for rock bands, but due to the proximity to neighbours, has caused issues and I now rehearse elsewhere.