Basement studio/drum room advice needed

Start your own studio thread here: Goals, plans, layouts, treatment, speakers, questions, queries, comments...
ScotcH

Postby ScotcH » Mon, 2020-Nov-16, 22:32

Hello! My first post here ... First off, I am absolutely blown away by the amount of information here, and the willingness to share it. The fact that all questions, regardless of being advanced, basic, or repetitive appear to be professionally handled and discussed ... it's just ... wow. Thank you!

I am a rock drummer, and producer/mixer/recoding engineer (in my own band, lol). In other words, I like to play loud, and play with a DAW to record our noise making. Not a professional in either job, but it sure is a fun hobby. I also build and race cars ... totally different, but the footwork is sometimes similar :D

Anyway, I am about to start my basement drum/jam room and sometimes recording studio. I have read a crapload of articles, and watched a tonne of vids. I think I have a good base (and I'm a pretty good study), but need some help to wade through the bullshit and the MANY options. I'm also pretty good with sketchup, so I plan to mock up everything before construction.

Attached are a couple of photos of the virgin space as it sits right now (just finished gutting it). It's ~quarter of the basement. Here are the specs:

1. Concrete block on 2 walls, 2x6 stud walls on other 2 walls, concrete floor (on grade)
2. 21' x 13', 90" floor to ceiling joists
3. 1 36" door opening, 1 36" window
4. HVAC pipes to upstairs floor run in the joists (3x)
5. Some HVAC piping in the space (see image). This can't easily be moved, so will be boxed in.
6. Floor above is 5/8" diagonal planks, 5/8" OSB, and 3/4" engineered hardwood.

20201115_151008.jpg

20201115_151019.jpg

Now the primary goals, in order:
1. Drum/jam room first and foremost
2. Sound isolation for rest of house. It's a very open house, and I want to stay married :lol: