Home recording studio in the attic.

Start your own studio thread here: Goals, plans, layouts, treatment, speakers, questions, queries, comments...
Gilmour74

Postby Gilmour74 » Sat, 2021-Feb-27, 14:41

Hello!
I'm building a studio in the attic. I'm not a professional, but I know how important it is to have good acoustics in the studio, a flat response. I read the instructions for the acoustics treatment of classical rectangular rooms (SBIR, 38% listening position, center of the room - bass cancellation, bass traps, absorbing acoustic panels, diffusers, etc.). I am writing this post for the atypical size of the room. Can you advise me on problems with the acoustics of this attic? I am sending a drawing of the attic with the layout of the monitors (Yamaha HS7) and the listening position. The initial treatment of acoustics would be to make absorbent acoustic panels for the first reflections (ceiling, side walls, front wall), vertical corners of the bass trap. I don't know what to do with that chimney which can be a problem because the listening position is between the monitors and the chimney. Apply a diffuser to the entire chimney behind your back? The back of the room is a combination of absorbing acoustic panels and diffusers? On sloping walls there are Velux roof windows, walls and ceiling one plasterboard 12.5 mm with mineral wool 100 mm, concrete floor with carpet. I will be happy for any advice. Excuse me my english is very poor.
Attachments
Ľ + P Monitors.jpg
Ľ+P Monitor.jpg
Rez odrazy komplet.jpg
Pôdorys odrazy komplet.jpg
Home studio.jpg

endorka

Postby endorka » Sun, 2021-Feb-28, 08:10

Congratulations on starting your project and welcome to the forum. This shape of room is great fun, and in my experience can give recording acoustics that are interesting in a very good way. Some aspects of it are also beneficial to a mix room. On the other hand, it makes predicting room modes difficult!

A couple of things spring to mind;