Building ~400 square foot backyard studio

Start your own studio thread here: Goals, plans, layouts, treatment, speakers, questions, queries, comments...
martybones420

Postby martybones420 » Mon, 2021-Mar-08, 16:14

Does anyone have any examples of a roughly 400 square foot studio build? This will be a new build in my backyard. I'd like to have it be mostly one room, but with a small (roughly 8x11sqft) iso booth. And a small bathroom. Starting from scratch! And examples you can point me towards would be great! Need to figure out what HVAC system would be best to ventilate the main space and the booth. Building it on a slab. I don't have a massive budget, just need to keep out neighborhood noises and have it be functional. I'm a musician and do a lot of overdub work. I'm not an engineer, I just engineer myself and occasionally people come to me to help track extras.

Thanks!

-Matt

SoWhat

Postby SoWhat » Mon, 2021-Mar-08, 17:43

Greetings martybones,

I don't have a massive budget

Can you be more specific? Because...

HVAC will add a significant expense ($1000s) and the small bathroom could add quite a bit too, particularly if you need to tap into the main drain. Search the forum for "HVAC" and "ventilation". There's loads of stuff.

If the slab is already there, that will help with your budget, otherwise see above.

All the best,

Paul

martybones420

Postby martybones420 » Tue, 2021-Mar-09, 18:39