Soundproofing a music room on the 7th floor in the middle of Oslo

Document your build here: All about your walls, ceilings, doors, windows, HVAC, and (gasp!) floated floors...
interstahler

Postby interstahler » Sat, 2021-Mar-13, 16:13

Hi! Excited to have joined this forum! :D

So, my fiancé and I live in Oslo, Norway at the top two floors of a seven story brick building in the middle of the capitol. We both work in the music/theatre/entertainment industry and have recently finished remodeling our 75 m2 (807 sq ft) apartment to free up 20 m2 (215 sq ft) for our home office/music room/studio. Picture of our fasade for context: https://www.flickr.com/photos/192466259 ... res/q9G0wj.

About us and our vision
I'm a pianist, musical director, producer, composer and arranger and my fiancé is a singer/actor/artist. I would like to practice on my acoustic piano preferably without my neighbours hearing anything. She needs a vocal booth where she can work seperately from me. A more ambitious goal is to be able to have small band rehearsals at home - even with a small drum kit - kick, snare, hh, tom, cymbal (during appropriate hours of the day) without disturbing our neighbours too much. We don't expect to able to make it completely silent, but we would like to soundproof as much as possible.

Firstly, I'd like to clarify that we're not aiming for a top tier recording studio. Our main concern is soundproofing so we can rehearse/practice at home in good conscience. From what I know and have learned so far this might be challenging, and I have almost given up many times. Finding you guys have given me some new hope. So here goes.

About the apartment
Here's a rough sketchup screenshot of the entire apartment: https://www.flickr.com/photos/192466259 ... res/c9E1g4