Salem Oregon conference center studio

Document your build here: All about your walls, ceilings, doors, windows, HVAC, and (gasp!) floated floors...
Guit-picker

Postby Guit-picker » Sat, 2021-May-01, 15:22

I was asked by our conference center to spearhead a recording studio for a Christian outreach. In 2014, we decided to build it in what was originally a “Potting shed” that serviced a large greenhouse in the past. It was built much like a garage, only with no garage door. I had already joined the John Sayers forum and had been learning how to REALLY build a studio after some false starts at home. Now I am glad to be on Soundman2020’s forum, as he has saved me several times from disaster. I am indebted to him and the Sayers forum for keeping me on the straight and narrow. Stuart suggested that I put a summary of the stages I’ve been through to bring everyone up to date. That’s no small task as the Control Room is nearly done and I am just beginning to dig into the 3 sound rooms that are pending acoustics. I am needing the most help with acoustics, since that’s where I am least confident and for me, it’s the scariest part.

This will be a very long post because I don’t see any other way to do it. Since they say “a picture’s worth a thousand words (except electrical engineers say “A word is worth a millipicture”), I decided to minimize text and post photos, reduced in size for storage space. So here goes…

Original building pics:
The room was a bit musty inside, with not much insulation. It had creepy indoor/outdoor carpeting and you could see light from underneath the double doors in the back! On September 27, 2014 we started the first physical work by gutting out the inside walls. The ceiling wasn’t figured out yet. The people were eager go get started, which made me uneasy, since there was so much research to do yet.
A1_External_Start.JPG

A2_Internal_Start.JPG

A3Gutted_Out.JPG

Outer Mass: