Budget Soundproofed Home Cinema (Theater) to be built in a new house

Churches, home theaters, shops, offices, board rooms, houses, schools and other places with acoustic problems.

Do you like the design

Yes
No votes
No
No votes
I have no idea but sounds and looks good
No votes
I have no idea but sounds and looks rubbish
No votes
Don't you have some multiplex in the 'hood?
No votes

Total votes: 0

terminator1987

Postby terminator1987 » Thu, 2021-Feb-25, 15:22

Hello,

I would like to ask your opinion and hear any thoughts about a small budget home cinema I am going to incorporate into my future house. I shall be starting the project with an architect within few months (and he or she probably will not specialize in acoustics, but in residential housing), so it is a good time to start preparing. I have done some research previosuly, and that is what I came up with.

The renders are very amateur - bear that in mind, I am no designer, just wanted to give some visual to my thoughts. To clarify the instruments up front - I will need a space to molest my guitars and to shriek freely without disturbing other cohabitants and hence a soundproof room.

1) dimensions - using the web calculators I explored many recommended proportions in conjuntction with what may be practically available and settled for 600 x 500 x 390 cm, which would give quite some Bonello modes and most powerful standing waves will be axial and mostly in predictable places such as walls and corners: https://amcoustics.com/tools/amroc?l=60 ... 90&r60=0.6